Rob Yardumian

Rob Yardumian was born in Southern California and grew up in the suburbs of Washington, D.C. After graduating from the University of Virginia, he moved back west in 1986 to embark on a career in the music business. He spent ten years performing several jobs, including Managing Editor of Cash Box magazine and Creative Director for Burt Bacharach’s music publishing company. His most enjoyable stint came as Director of Marketing for I.R.S. Records, the label that brought the world R.E.M., the Go-Go’s, the Buzzcocks, and other leading lights of the punk and new wave scene.

In the mid-90’s Rob left the music industry and began writing fiction, earning his MFA from the Warren Wilson College Program for Writers in 1997. His short fiction has been published in The Southern Review, The New Orleans Review, The Antioch Review, and other literary journals.

In the tradition of Nick Hornby and Paul Harding, Rob Yardumian is a strong new voice in literary fiction, The Sound of Songs Across the Water is Rob’s first novel. It marries his love of rock and roll with a lyrical and musical voice, crafting a haunting and sharply-focused tale of melody, lust, and the ghosts we can’t outrun. The book will be available in June, 2013 from MP Publishing.

Like The Sounds of Songs Across the Water Facebook page to keep up to date with news and reviews.